This Sashimi Plate

Sashimi is a Japanese delicacy consisting of very fresh raw meat or fish sliced into thin pieces.

For the past few months (3 to be exact) Tyler and I have kept a predominantly pescatarian diet. It’s been a good change to our normal meat eating habits and it’s allowed our digestive systems to take a rest from breaking down heaps (Ozzie word) of thick protein and fat. It’s been a good change except I crave variety when it comes to meals and eating salmon everyday was getting a bit boring. I don’t know too much about fish, salmon and shrimp made up my repertoire, thus we were eager to mix things up a notch. We ventured to the Sydney fish market to explore and hoped we’d score a different member of the sea. It was a bit overwhelming seeing all of the fish and seafood displayed on the crushed ice. I love shell fish, but it is pricey. I did make a Cioppino back in Florida, so I’ll throw that onto the list, although it cost me almost $70 to make. Anyway this market services local restaurants so knowing that chefs are visiting to grab their catch of the day is kind of cool. I’m shopping where the culinary pros shop. We ended up cruising around with no goal, but when we came across the sashimi we just couldn’t resist. We’re sushi lovers so this was the tits. We bought 2 trays at $16.99 each and they weren’t stingy. The tray had about 8 thin slices of a few different fish; salmon, tuna, hamachi (yellow fin-may fav!) and ocean trout. we asked for extra salmon because I didn’t like the whitefish option they had. It was cheaper than what you would pay for at a sushi restaurant and we had enough for dinner and leftovers for Ty’s lunch.

Here’s my plate of goodness. Sashimi Plate My Deconstructed Sushi Plate: What you’ll need:

  • assortment of sashimi (make sure it’s sushi grade you don’t want to eat just any raw fish, you might get sick)
  • nori sheets
  • black rice
  • sprouts (I used bean sprouts, they are a bit sweeter)
  • radishes
  • purple cabbage
  • carrots
  • cucumbers
  • red peppers
  • mirin (or sweet rice wine)
  • soy sauce
  • sauce recipe info in the link (optional)

First, cook the rice I used a regular pot because I don’t have a rice cooker. I know it’s crazy an Asian without a rice cooker, but we just don’t eat rice that often (too many carbs I don’t need in my life). I did 1 cup rice to 2 cups water. When the rice is fluffy (usually about 20-25 minutes) mix in 1/4 of mirin and cover. The mirin sweetens the rice a bit and gives it that sushi roll flavor.

Second, pickle the accoutrement Mix 1/4 cup of mirin with couple of dashes of soy, 2 tablespoons of sugar, salt and pepper. Slice your veggies in sticks. I chose to cut my radishes in circles because it was easier. If you have a slicer that makes sheets that would be great to, but I just had a knife so I cut the raw veggies as thin as I could to make matchsticks or shreds without cutting my fingertips off. Once the veggies are cut, drop them in the pickling liquid and soak for at least 10 minutes.

Last, prep your plate I took one sheet of nori and laid it flat on my plate, but I think this was more for presentation because the sheet got soggy and I think next time I’ll just roll it up like a big funnel and set it to the side so I can build small hand rolls, but you live and you learn. I then scooped up a small portion of rice and added it to the plate topped with sesame seed and some sprouts (we eat with our eyes first). I started laying rows of fish and then along the sides of the plate I added my pickled veggies. I pickle them because they give them a light sweet flavor and there isn’t a raw bite with the delicate fish. I liked the combo. It melded well together.

I also made a “dynamite sauce” for Tyler since he likes spicy and I didn’t buy wasabi. I used the concepts of this recipe for the sauce except I improvised. I didn’t have tahini so I used vegan mayo. I kept everything else the same and I tasted a bit, it was good, just spicy.

Alright I hope you enjoyed my first recipe blog. I realize I posted this photo a few weeks ago, but I wanted to share the steps. More to come.

Cheers, Mae

Leave a Reply

