Ch..ch..chia pudding 

I’ve seen chia seeds everywhere! They are all over my Instagram feed since I follow a bunch of food bloggers and health fanatics. But aside from topping my yogurt or fruit bowl and sprinkling them into my smoothies I never really used them in a recipe before.

When we were living in San Francisco we ate breakfast at a restaurant called Plow in Potrero Hill and I ordered their chia pudding bowl. And it was so good. I was raving about it and kept meaning to recreate it.

It was so simple, delicate, sweet and better yet, a bowl of health benefits. Now I’m not going to explain what each food item provides on the nutritional scale as I’m sure I won’t be 100% accurate, I’ll let you guys do the research. But I am going to share a recipe for my version of Plow’s chia pudding.


What you’ll need:

  • Chia seeds
  • Almond milk or coconut milk
  • Vanilla extract
  • Bee pollen (make sure it edible)
  • Mixed berries
  • Bananas
  • Honey (I like the Orange blossom honey)

First, make the pudding:

  • 4tbs chia seeds
  • 1C almond milk
  • Few drops of vanilla

Mix together in Tupperware. Leave in the fridge overnight (at least 8 hours). The seeds expand and become gelatinous. If it’s too thin add more seeds, but you’ll have to refrigerate and wait again. If it’s too thick add more milk and stir. It should be the consistency of a silky pudding.

Second, add toppings: 

You can really top this with anything or leave it as is and sprinkle some cinnamon or coconut sugar on top. Yum! I added sliced bananas, mixed berries, bee pollen (don’t worry, they don’t really have a flavor, it was more for color and their “health” benefits, plus this is how Plow made it) and drizzled honey on top.

Happy breakfast or snacking!

If you try it Let me know how it goes.

Cheers,

Mae

Leave a Reply

