Brekky Bowls

There’s a place down the street from our house called The Shop and I’m absolutely in love with it. It’s the tiniest cafe (literally 3 tables inside) and a few outdoor squat spots, but it’s so idyllic. The first time I saw it I was on my way to check out our apartment, it was filled to the brim with people sipping lattes and eating fresh salads and it had a major impact on why I decided on our place. Just look at it.

the Shop Bondi photocred: summersite.com

It’s been our go to breakfast spot when I’m not in the mood to make anything or when we want a side of sunshine with our Sunday brunch. Although their menu isn’t extensive the dishes they do serve have been perfected. Take their brekky bowl for instance. This is something that I absolutely love. Simple ingredients, fresh vegetables, very little seasoning, and super healthy. Here’s my take on the brekky bowl.

brekky bowl

What you’ll need:

  • quinoa
  • roastable veggies (I used potatoes, beets, and carrots, but any root veg will do)
  • avocado
  • egg
  • halloumi (aka cypriot) or tofu
  • sprouts
  • lemon
  • s&p

Let me first discuss halloumi or cypriot, because before I moved to Sydney I had no idea what this was and it’s prevalent in almost every menu I come across. Halloumi, as it’s mostly known, is a semi-hard, unripened brined goat’s and sheep’s milk cheese. It has a high melting point so it’s great fried, seared or grilled and it’s texture is similar to a harder mozz with a deliciously salty flavor. It’s sooooo good.

First, roast your veggies.

I chop my potatoes, beets and carrots and add them to a baking sheet with a little oil, salt and pepper. (Tip: if you chop everything to the same size they will cook evenly). I roast at 350 degrees for 25-30 mins or until golden brown. Luckily I had some from dinner the night before so this is a great way to use veggie leftovers.

Second, make your quinoa.

I follow the packaging, but sometimes I’ll  use chicken broth instead of water. This time I used water to cut down on sodium, again I had some left over from dinner.

Third, poach or pan fry your egg.

You can really make your egg to your preference, but I like the eggs this way because you can punch the yolk and let it run all over your bowl like a sauce. Mmmmm… For tips on poaching an egg watch this.

Fourth, pan fry or sear your halloumi, or you can use tofu instead.

I put a small pat of butter in a non stick skillet and slice my halloumi about 1/4 inch thick. Once the butter is melted I add the cheese and watch it brown. You should get a crispy layer of golden brown on each side, but watch it because it will burn and you don’t want to waste this cheese.

Lastly, assemble. I add a layer of quinoa to the bottom of my bowl, add my roasted veggies to one side, add the halloumi next to it, add sliced avo to the bottom of the bowl and sprouts to the top, and then I top it all off with my egg.

Voila! It’s that simple. At the Shop they use these bowls that are almost deep plates they are a little easier to work with when it comes to eating, you can plate this, but I liked the idea of a bowl. I mean, it’s a brekky bowl. Hope you try this recipe and let me know how it turns out!

Cheers,

Mae

Leave a Reply

